Who We Are

Staff & Elders

We are currently looking for a teaching pastor

Learn more here

Meet the staff

Andrew Vanover

Lead Pastor
Andrew is responsible for stewarding and shepherding the church, mobilizing them to serve and lead in the church and community, leading the staff, working with the elders and assisting the other pastors. 


Teaching Pastor
We are in the process of searching for our next teaching pastor.
Learn more.

Lynne McLaughlin

Interim Pastor of Community Life/
Minister to Children
Lynne oversees small groups, women’s ministry and congregational care. She also works with Lisa on all aspects of Children's Ministry.

Michael Weller

Minister of Worship Arts
Michael prepares for and leads the congregation in faithful, meaningful and engaging worship 

Peter Ek

Minister to Students
Peter oversees ministry to high school students, helping them develop their leadership skills and setting the foundation for Christian faith that will carry them into adulthood. 

Linda Winer

Director of Middle School Ministry
Linda oversees our Middle School Student Ministry, including Sunday morning classes and Wednesday evening gatherings.

Lisa Udell

Minister to Children
Lisa works with Lynne to plan and implement all aspects of our ministry to children, from newborn through 5th grade.

Kimberly Korpak

Pastoral Assistant
Kimberly offers administrative support to the pastoral staff. She also oversees and coordinates our Hospitality volunteers.

Angel Baum

Office Assistant
Angel works in the front office overseeing many of the details necessary to keep the day to day operations of the church running smoothly. 

Michelle Bennett

Communications Coordinator
Michelle oversees digital and print communication. She is also responsible for welcoming  newcomers, connecting them with the life of our church. 

Ron Pleune

Facility Coordinator
Ron takes care of the many details that are involved with the daily care and maintenance of our facilities and grounds. 

Meet the Elders

Thornapple’s Council of Elders are elected to three-year terms from our membership and are joined by the Senior Pastor and Treasurer. They serve as the board of directors and legal trustees of Thornapple and its property; this groups of tireless individuals typically meets the third Thursday of every month (a summary of their most recent meeting can be found below).

Our Elders are here to serve. Contact them at any time if you have concerns you would like them to be aware of or ideas you would like to share. Please refer to their contact information in the church directory (available by contacting Michelle Bennett) OR leave a note for them in the mailbox in the Copy Room at church.

financial updates | Articles of Incorporation | Bylaws (Part A and Part B)

Read a summary of the most recent Council of Elders meeting

Sarah DeBaets

Patty Dekker

Vice Chair

Susan Eastburg

Jeff Guikema

Doug Josephson


Gail Mortenson


Brian Rudy

Erin Russell

Jim Smith

Josh Traughber

Mickey Tresh


Rick Kamminga

Financial Secretary